While I’m enjoying my time working on these online transcriptions, I don’t think I’m likely to continue after the semester.

Once I complete my Masters requirements, I’d like to get more involved with ARMN’s in-person citizen science projects. They have a frog watch program that I’m very interested in, and I’ve heard good things about our stream monitoring teams as well.

Most of all, I’d like to pursue the Chesapeake Bay Foundation’s Grasses for the Masses program. In this project, individuals grow wild celery grasses in big plastic tins. After helping the plants grow from seeds into maturity, CBF sponsors field trips where students and families can transplant their grasses into the Bay.

I think this would be a fabulous program for Arlington Public Schools. Not only does it promote classroom science skills, but it ties in beautifully with a local conservation issue. I am hopeful that through Arlington 4-H, I can entice some teachers to give this activity a shot. Personally, I think that would be much more rewarding and powerful than the online transcriptions.

However, I’d like to reiterate—this online platform was perfect for my needs this semester. If I had tried to keep high-maintenance underwater grasses alive, I don’t think I would have been nearly as successful!

Leave a comment